The Gift of the Clock

In the midst of overcoming, planning and consuming crisps, I have found inspiration to sit down and finally return to my blog. (I also think this urge to write has been inspired by my insightful (and handsome!) fiance’s recent glee for writing his own personal blog!) It saddens me greatly that I haven’t contributed to my beloved ‘Smile and the Whole World Will Smile With You’ blog for a good seven months now; but that now changes! Search through my archives if you haven’t read some of my thoughts before; I’m sure there are some gems hidden in here somewhere.

Now, enough of that; I’ve got something to share.

Every morning, I happen to see something beautiful.  At the same time each day on my drive into work, I often drive past a man walking along with his boy who looks around the age of seven; I presume they are on the way to school. Even in winter months, the father will always, without fail, wear a pair of shorts; the boy does the same. As I drive past, the father is so often engaging his boy in conversation and his son grins, scuffing his shoes against the floor, as he tries to catch up with his father’s pace and amusing story. Other days, I see the boy talking really passionately about something, gesturing with his hands, as he strides along with his father in their matching shorts.

This is all I see. It’s about three seconds of my day and yet it’s made such an impact on me.

I even cried once when I saw them!

Making the most out of a moment is something I can so often struggle with. Sometimes, it comes naturally and those are delightful moments. Other times, I can be stuck in one of my self indulgent, anxious, freak-out-about-everything moments which can last for days on end. However, seeing the father and his boy reminds me of the importance of making the most of the time that’s given to us. I see the pair of them talking, laughing and engaging with each other and their working/school day hasn’t even started yet! I can’t help but think that it’s the father’s favourite part of his day; it certainly looks like he makes the most out of that time.

Where can you make more of an effort in your day? Is there a friend you have let slip you by? A family member you could devote more conversation to? Or even a favourite thing of yours that you miss doing; could you reignite your love for it? Could you pick up your Bible? Ask someone a question you’ve always wanted the answer to? I have got people, situations and hobbies swarming around my head when thinking about this in my own life. I know there are so many ways I could grow in this; it’s worth the mental fight to push past and do them.

The devotion, care and time shared between the boy and the father makes me think about how God sees us. He is delighted with us. He delights in us sharing time with Him. If you’re struggling to remember how to live in a moment, at least remember that you are Loved; more than you’ll ever be able to comprehend.

Make time; share time with others; love those people like 1 Corinthians 13:4-7 and remember that God loves you like this too:

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonour others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. 7 It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. 1 Corinthians 13:4-7

tol

3 thoughts on “The Gift of the Clock

  1. Pingback: The Gift of the Clock — A post from my wonderful Fiancée, who inspires me daily! – Footsteps Of Faith

Leave a Reply

