• Why Can’t Life Be Like A Film?

narnia1I am such a film geek. I love immersing myself in character’s stories and adventures. I often wish that I was, too, a character in these films as life would just be that little bit simpler and cooler.

C. S. Lewis’ character, Lucy, for example, who features in The Lion, The Witch and The WardrobePrince Caspian and The Voyage of the Dawn Treader has a whale of a time! Yes, she can be a tad irritating, BUT, she goes on the best adventures, gets to CUDDLE Aslan and is super cool as she is transported to the incredible fantasy world of Narnia, escaping boring England. SHE ALSO GETS TO HANG OUT WITH MR TUMNUS AND THE BEAVERS. Gahh. SO fun.

Also, Anna from Frozen… She befriends a talking snowman (who is hilarious), can eat chocolate all of the time in her palace and still has an incredible figure…THEN she finds a man who loves her for who she is as soon as she meets him!! (This is Kristoff, by the way, not Hans. He’s a turd.)

Characters in films are flipping loving life. There is barely any mention of student finance, rent, jobs, essays or taxes in films. (Not in Fantasy or Disney movies anyway!) Yet, my heart and mind are troubled so much by these things. As a student who is about to graduate, I feel swamped by pressure to be successful. Pressure of finding a job, earning enough money to do things I enjoy, finding a place to live and pressure to be content. I worry that I won’t be content in life. For my heart yearns for certain things – things that I have yearned for for many years and yet they have not happened. My impatience for such things makes me doubt myself. I worry whether I’m good enough or not. I also get irritated with God, for He knows my heart’s desires, but such things have not happened.

However, a change of mindset is definitely in order! Our lives may not be as fun or as exciting as Lucy’s or Anna’s, but we can certainly try. An extremely wise woman once told me, “Sarah, your life is not going to be boring. Your life is a story. There is a whole chapter that awaits. It’s going to be new and exciting to read.”

Perhaps create a literal, visual timeline of your life. Write down how far you’ve come; your personal achievements, attributes you love about yourself and people you’ve met along the way. Keep adding to this and see how the chapters of your life unfold.

If your heart is troubled and you feel let down, don’t be disheartened, for there are good things to come. God has a plan for your life and He has the perfect timing for your journey. For it says in Proverbs 16:9 that, ‘The heart of man plans his way, but the Lord establishes his steps.’ 

So, to be content for NOW, rather than constantly worrying about being content in the future; find joy in each day. Do more of what fills you with pure joy. As Phillip Phillips sings in his song, ‘Raging Fire’: “Hold on to what makes you feel // Don’t let go [of it], it’s what makes you real.” 

Atomnd, as a final motivational statement, here is a line from another one of my favorite films, Cast Away. Tom Hanks says this: “I gotta keep breathing. Because tomorrow the sun will rise. Who knows what the tide could bring?”

Be excited. Because, you are an exciting individual, with an exciting future.

Leave a Reply

